STATES OF JERSEY



JERSEY ADVISORY AND CONCILIATION SERVICE: APPOINTMENT OF BOARD MEMBERS

Presented to the States on 11th October 2011 by Minister for Social Security

STATES GREFFE

REPORT

Background

The Jersey Advisory and Conciliation (Jersey) Law 2003 provides that the Board of the Jersey Advisory and Conciliation Service shall consist of not more than 7 members who must not be members of the States.

Members of the Board must be selected and appointed by the Board, subject to the approval of the Minister for Social Security, and the Minister must inform the States of any such appointment.

Membership

Mr. Kevin Keen and Mr. David Warr both resigned from the Board effective from 29th September 2011.

Mr. John Moulin retires from the Board effective from 31st December 2011 at the end of his current term.

Mrs. Lorna Pestana will resign from the Board effective from 29th February 2012.

The following members will remain on the Board –

- Mr. Thomas Slattery, Chairman
- Mr. Edmund Daubeney, Deputy Chairman
- Miss Julie Crabtree.

Recruitment

The 4 positions on the Board were advertised in the Jersey Evening Post and a recruitment process was undertaken in accordance with best practice. Interviews were conducted by Mr. Slattery and Mr. Daubeney and the Board has selected 4 new members.

The Minister for Social Security approves the appointment of the following new members for the terms specified –

Mrs. Alison Mellor – Senior Staff Representative of Unite, Lloyds TSB, for a maximum term of 4 years, effective from 1st October 2011.

Mrs. Sarah Beirne – Head of Human Resources at PricewaterhouseCooper, for a maximum term of 4 years, effective from 1st October 2011.

Mr. Craig Channing – Chairman of the Fire Service Association, for a maximum term of 4 years, effective from 1st January 2012.

Advocate Zoë Blomfield – Managing Partner of Viberts, for a maximum term of 4 years, effective from 1st March 2012.

It is considered that the new members will bring valuable knowledge and experience to the Board.

I would like to thank the retiring members for their contribution to the Board and would also like to thank the Chairman, Mr. Slattery, and the continuing Board members for their continued commitment to JACS.